Author Topic: Debian Sid/Squeeze rootfs  (Read 8449 times)

JD1971

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Debian Sid/Squeeze rootfs
« Reply #15 on: January 04, 2011, 07:37:38 AM »
@T_nut,

Did you also install xorg before openbox?
I read somewere that this must be installed too.

1) apt-get update
2) apt-get install xorg
3) apt-get install openbox

Not sure of course, but i thaought i read it somewhere in a post by Wicknix.

Regards
JD1971

T_Nut

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Debian Sid/Squeeze rootfs
« Reply #16 on: January 04, 2011, 02:53:14 PM »
Hi
Thank you Robin for the suggestion i tried it but didn't work :(
Thank you JD1971 for your suggestion aswell did what you said and that didn't either :(
What i would like to do is get openbox to work i think thats on lenny,get wifi manager on it so i don't have to do it on command line then add some prgrams get it the i would like it then install on nand hopefully !
Many Thanks
Andrew
« Last Edit: January 04, 2011, 03:48:06 PM by T_Nut »
A linux Newbie. unemployed and getting bored

wicknix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 634
Re: Debian Sid/Squeeze rootfs
« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2011, 12:46:21 AM »
You need the xinit package. It includes startx.

http://packages.debian.org/sid/xinit

Cheers.

T_Nut

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Debian Sid/Squeeze rootfs
« Reply #18 on: January 05, 2011, 06:40:10 PM »
Hi wicnix
 I tried what you said ended up with a black screen + white mouse pointer and thats it
a frozen LLL had to turn of.But on a plus side i got wifi working in lenny.
The time spent playing around with sid i found it unstable and not very usable not really for newbie's (me)
 Just as wicknix said. so sticking with lenny alot better.
Thank You All For Your Replys And Help.
Many Thanks
Andrew
A linux Newbie. unemployed and getting bored

T_Nut

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Debian Sid/Squeeze rootfs
« Reply #19 on: March 01, 2011, 10:49:58 AM »
Hi All
Thought i would have a play with sid again tried to get desktop again but no luck
so what is actually needed for a desktop.I was thinking about JWM so i doint have to right click every time to get menu.
Many Thanks
Andrew
A linux Newbie. unemployed and getting bored