Author Topic: Stopping wifi from firing up  (Read 5397 times)

Unhban

• Thinks....
Stopping wifi from firing up
« on: May 01, 2010, 03:13:43 PM »
Hi Guys. I've leant my LLL to a friend for a while but he won't be using the wifi, just an attached 3 dongle.

To save battery can anyone say which file I should alter so that during boot-up the wifi doesn't fire up?

Unh.

Tank

Re: Stopping wifi from firing up
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2010, 04:27:24 PM »
Hi Unh
Can't help you with the wiFi but wondered if you might be able to help me. I have been trying to connect my LLL using a 3G dongle but have been unable to do this. I have asked the question on this board and have tried all suggestions but still no luck. I have an Elonex oneT and 3mxUltra running on it. I am a real wrinkly novice at this but love this site and this OS that Wicknix has produced, any help would be appreciated, thanks
Alan

FezzFest

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2010, 09:39:43 AM »
@Unhban:

Do you have the model with WiFi build-in or with a WiFi USB-dongle? I case you have build-in WiFi, there is an option to turn it off in 3MX Ultra, in case you have an USB-dongle I think you know the solution too ;)

@Tank:

What chipset/type/model is your 3G dongle? If there's a driver available in 3MX it should work with some tweaks.

Unhban

• Thinks....
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2010, 10:22:07 AM »
Hi FezzFest, my Wifi is built in to the LLL and it's the original OS on the machine. My friend's a technophobe and preferred the original software - we did try others!

And hi to Tank. The mobile dongle I'm using is a Huawei E220. This works out of the box with the LLL as the LLL has the correct driver in the firmware. I specifically researched which dongle would work out of the box. The E220 is very popular and I got it off Ebay.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huawei_E220