Author Topic: Newbie Alert! Elonex ONEtplus firmware?  (Read 7205 times)

nigelmercier

Newbie Alert! Elonex ONEtplus firmware?
« on: March 23, 2010, 01:39:04 AM »
This is a repost of a question in the Beginners Board, as it probably is more appropriate here:

I've just bought an Elonex ONEtplus (LNX/NB/ONEtplus/N5008BLK). I'm a complete novice to Linux, and to this device, but I'm regarded as a PC guru by my friends - although they are probably wrong

First thing I did was a hard reset, then I got the latest Recovery Image from Elonex. After that I discovered that there was an updated firmware (V70) on the CnM Lifestyle web site. So I think I'm up-to-date (assuming these work OK together)

[UPDATE] I've since discovered 3MX Ultra! But I still have a question:

I noticed that the firmware came with a new boot image (as a png). I modified this after I installed the firmware, then tried to do the three-key-shuffle (Shift/FN/F1) to re-load the firmware with the new picture. Didn't work. Can this boot image be modified, or is the png a red herring?

wicknix

Re: Newbie Alert! Elonex ONEtplus firmware?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 02:58:02 AM »
The boot logos (images) are built into the kernel (firmware). You can't change them unless you rebuild the kernel with your modified boot logo.

I personally would like to see the Ard's backlight kernel with no boot logo. I'd like to see the kernel/boot messages instead.

Cheers

FezzFest

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 06:58:10 PM »
@wicknix: I think you need an extra patch to do that. I think they are currently redirected to some port on the device.

nigelmercier

« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 10:43:03 AM »
I'd like to see the kernel/boot messages instead.

Hi Matt,