Author Topic: Manufacturer's Updates??  (Read 6469 times)

LittleDavid

Manufacturer's Updates??
« on: November 09, 2009, 09:53:41 PM »
I've been using my CmNBook since January this year and have found it interesting, frustrating, just about usable for what I want (almost entirely writing and editing) which is something to replace my ancient Psions. I've had a lot of help from the forums here, and am grateful for it. For the £140 I paid, this tiddler is well worth the money and the trouble. (Well, I was an IBM systems programmer for 27 years.)  HOWEVER, in this game, one is used to updates from the manufacturers being available, particularly to remove some of the more obvious hang-ups. Does anyone round this side of the world know whether this is going to happen for the CmNBook? Is there anything we users can do to help make it happen? I don,t want to have to spend oodles of money on the latest and greatest mini that reads e-books, plays pop songs, talks to Facebook etc, all at once all day long. I just want a CmNBook Plus that does what this one does, but properly. Should I pray, send a letter to the UN, book a flight to China, or just get stuffed?

wicknix

Re: Manufacturer's Updates??
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2009, 05:03:14 AM »
Other than a few random (and some rather pointless) updates from Skytone i wouldn't be expecting much. In my opinion i think the only real updates we will see will come from the LLL user community.

Cheers.

jimux

« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2009, 08:58:14 AM »
Wicknix is too modest, He has produced a set of excellent replacement Linux Distributions and if you want to use the box as an end-user tool rather than a development/education environment I would thoroughly recommend his Retro 1.2 as a replacement for the original software.