Author Topic: Midnight commander  (Read 4712 times)

crylex

Midnight commander
« on: September 16, 2008, 01:58:15 PM »
Hi

For those that want to play with the Linux at a lower level, I would strongly recommend midnight commander, run from the xterm, both available here

http://www.xs4all.nl/~jostht/epc/

Chris

jasuk70

Re: Midnight commander
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2008, 02:43:30 PM »
Cheers for that. I've just installed and I've also got the ssh from that link which works a treat too.

Jas

cnm_venturer

« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2008, 06:44:21 PM »
ZTE MF622 Modem

I am a complete newbie to linux.  If I download midnight commander to my cmn miniBook where will I find it and what will it let me do.
I got this the other day, with apologies to Jim, but do not have a clue how to use it on my cnm miniBook - any guidance would be appreciated.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=665332

Re: ZTE USB Modem Help

Okay scrap the problems, Here is how to do if for people out there (none of this is my doing really, I've just played around with the information out there)

First you need to set up the ZTE MF622 as a modem rather than a usb drive. This is done by inserting the following script.

ACTION!="add", GOTO="ZTE_End"

# Is this the ZeroCD device?
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idProduct}=="2000",
SYSFS{idVendor}=="19d2", GOTO="ZTE_ZeroCD"

# Is this the actual modem?
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idProduct}=="0001",
SYSFS{idVendor}=="19d2", GOTO="ZTE_Modem"

LABEL="ZTE_ZeroCD"
# This is the ZeroCD part of the card, remove
# the usb_storage kernel module so
# it does not get treated like a storage device
RUN+="/usr/src/usb_modeswitch-0.9.2/usb_modeswitch -d 1 -v 0x19d2 -p 0x2000 -V 0x19d2 -P 0x0001"

LABEL="ZTE_Modem"
# This is the Modem part of the card, let's
# load usbserial with the correct vendor
# and product ID's so we get our usb serial devices
RUN+="/sbin/modprobe usbserial vendor=0x19d2 product=0x0001",
# Make users belonging to the dialout group