Author Topic: Why Does Linux Have to Be So Complicated?  (Read 7899 times)

phil8715

Why Does Linux Have to Be So Complicated?
« on: April 17, 2009, 11:29:06 PM »
I'm trying to install certain applications such as Pidgin, Skype plugin and Facebook plugin without success.

What am I doing wrong? I'm downloading the applications, then I go into downloads in file manager,extract the files, when they're extracted I try to open them but all I get is a question mark icon with the file name underneath.

Why is Linux so complicated to use? With Windows you just download the files, unzip them if you need to, install the file then run it. Why doesn't Linux just use one executable file or have all files needed packaged into one program?

Also is there a version of Windows like for example Windows CE or Windows Mobile 6.5 I can put on as an ulternative to Linux on my Cnm Minibook?

Can somebody please give me step by step instructions to installing applications?

I'm total novice with Linux.

wicknix

Re: Why Does Linux Have to Be So Complicated?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2009, 11:39:21 PM »
You cant just go install anything you find on the internet with these netbooks. They dont have the standard x86 cpu (intel/amd etc). The plugins you found were not built to run on mips cpu's. Thats like trying to take the windows version of pidgin and trying to run it on your arm9 powered mobile phone. It just doesn't work that way.

You can A) set up a cross compiler for mipsel and build applications, or B) wait and see if somebody else does it.

Currently very few people are building or packaging applications for these netbooks. Whats available and working is listed in a thread on this forum. Those applications are simple to install via the package manager.

Cheers.

Whiskers

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2009, 12:08:59 AM »
I'm trying to install certain applications such as Pidgin,

You already have Pidgin - labelled Xip Chatting, but it is Pidgin.