Author Topic: Linux - what level?  (Read 4515 times)

Unhban

Linux - what level?
« on: February 07, 2009, 02:51:08 PM »
Hi Guys. This forum has been going since the Elonex was first released last September and now the forum seems to be gathering speed with what can and can't be done with E.

I wouldn't like to get anyone involved where they don't want to be, but just thought it may be helpful in some way for old hands and new users of this forum to say what sort of level they're at with Linux itself.

So post, if you like, that with Linux you're either:

o  an absolute noob
o  a beginner
o  a bit more than a beginner
o  intermediate
o  know your way round Linux like the back of your hand.

Unhban

Re: Linux - what level?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2009, 02:53:35 PM »
So.... with trepidation, I'll go first!

I'd say I'm a bit more than a beginner, but certainly not intermediate. Know my way around things a little and how things work, but still come unstuck!  ;D

Leven2e

My Linux level -Noobism
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2009, 03:09:39 PM »
I guess I'm an absolute noob,albeit I am not sure yet what it means..
Edit:googled it,now I know it's a newbie :-)
« Last Edit: February 07, 2009, 03:11:11 PM by Leven2e »

ThatWikiGuy

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2009, 04:03:43 PM »
Leven2e i'll say me (anbd you) are about the same level, and i consider myself a beginner

Artus Irbe

« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2009, 04:17:25 PM »
Yeah, i am an absolute noob. First and only encounter with linux was the one.
You are defo not a noob you two...

utd_grant

« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2009, 12:03:09 PM »
I guess I'm more than a beginner, as I've been using Ubuntu 8.04 on my home PC for quite a while now. Had to recompile ndiswrapper to get a WiFi dongle working on my laptop and was successful (eventually !). I've put myself down as 'Working towards Intermediate'. Not a guru by any means, but not fazed by having to go into the terminal and hack stuff about, either.

wicknix