Author Topic: Abiword Oddities  (Read 11271 times)

jameswi99

Abiword Oddities
« on: January 26, 2009, 09:47:17 AM »
Hello All,
    I am a newbie on the forum and have a One T+ which I use for writing. However, I have been getting a little frustrated with Abiword at the moment. The key issue is that, when I am in full flow and also when I hit the cursor keys repeatedly to move back through something I have typed, it has a tendency to insert random characters. These are usually in small groups (e.g. "[a-t£") and quite often include carriage returns, or even more annoyingly "cursor-ups" which move my typing up a few lines in the document, as well.
   Has anyone else seen this behaviour? Is there a known cure?

I tend to work with only Abiword running and Wifi turned off (for battery conservation), so I don't think there are any unnecessary performance drains on the machine.

Cheers

James

KneeOn

• "The Baby of LLF!"
Re: Abiword Oddities
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2009, 09:52:13 AM »
Same thing has happened to me a few times. I touch type really fast but the laptop might lag a little bit. It might be that you are going to fast? I doubt its Abi-Word its more likely a hardware or internal software that is not the software package but the drivers maybe? i dunno im a newbie like you are! :D
"Wow baby i was booorn! With a fast fuuuuse!"
"I wanna go fast!"
"Tango With Added Tango... You've been Tango'd!"

This has been my first experiance with linux, the LLL. Now i have installed it on the laptop that came with M$.!

Unhban

• Thinks....
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2009, 09:59:32 AM »