Small Linux Laptop Forum

Elonex One T & One T+, CnM Minibook => Hardware & Hardware Hacks => Mobile Phone/3G Dongles => Topic started by: alsaf on March 29, 2009, 08:41:16 PM

Title: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on March 29, 2009, 08:41:16 PM
I got my T-mobile Huweai E220 USB broadband working on the default OS however it comes up with time-out error when using 3MX rc2.1 and 3MX rc3.

Has anybody been successful in getting the E220 working with 3MX?
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: duttydea on March 30, 2009, 11:22:18 AM
Have you installed the driver? & Do you have V70 Firmware installed?

They can be downloaded from CnM's website
http://194.150.201.35/cnmlifestyle/downloads/3g.htm (http://194.150.201.35/cnmlifestyle/downloads/3g.htm)
http://194.150.201.35/cnmlifestyle/downloads/kernel.htm (http://194.150.201.35/cnmlifestyle/downloads/kernel.htm)

I suggest installing the Driver Files for you device listed. (Some seem to have additional System files!! and may have broken my 3mx)

It is always worth using the search banner of this site!! it works a treat, a lot of questions have been asked & answered it just takes a lil searching!!

Cheers
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: nspur on March 30, 2009, 04:31:36 PM
I too had a Huawei modem working on the default OS, although it was a 272 it worked with the 220 driver and it connected to Vodafone beautifully. Now that I have loaded 3MX I can find no way to start it. Clicking "Enable Huawei Driver" does nothing, I can't find a way to install patch files and there's not a XAP file that I can use to install whatever is necessary so I found Duttydea's reply massively unhelpful. Presumably if I originally had V70 and the drivers installed, I still do as the firmware was not erased by the recovery install of 3MX (??)

So - how to get a Huawei 220 modem working with Vodafone on 3MX?
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: duttydea on March 30, 2009, 04:47:12 PM
Sorry if i was unhelpful!! ??? ???

3mx should not affect the Firmware in anyway!!

although I have never used the E220, i will be buying one tomorrow!!

Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on March 30, 2009, 05:18:57 PM
I've tried the patches from cnm but they don't work.

The E220 uses PPP (Point to point protocol) in order to connect to the internet. I've found a few tutorials about PPP and hopefully they'll shed some light on problem.

There is an utility called wvdial which makes PPP easy. I've used it on my Ubuntu laptop and it works. It looks like it has quite a few dependencies so if somebody is brave enough to try and install it. If I can't get nowhere with the PPP tutorials, I'll try it myself.

The debian link to wvdial is as follows:

http://packages.debian.org/lenny/wvdial

Wiki link:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wvdial
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: nspur on March 31, 2009, 08:53:42 AM
Sorry if i was unhelpful!! ??? ???

3mx should not affect the Firmware in anyway!!

although I have never used the E220, i will be buying one tomorrow!!

  • The basic instructions for installing apps on 3mx RC2 & RC3:[/i]

    • Download the .patch , 3mx or xap to either a USB stick or SD Card
    • Rename the files to something more terminal friendly (Mobile.patch)
    • Insert the USB Stick Or SD Card into the LLL

    • Open the terminal and type:
      xap-install /USB/USB_1/mobile.patch For USB
      or
      xap-install /SD/SD_1/mobile.patch for SD

    you should try downloading the specific to your dongle!!
    This should install the drivers!!

    If all else fails other users should be online soon to help me & u Get this working!!

I have installed the patches. The Enable Huawei Driver option brought up the configuration dialog which I completed for my ISP, Vodafone. The connection attempt timed out. There were some hard-wired ISP entries in /etc/ppp/pap-secrets and /etc/ppp/pap-secrets which I changed, but still the timeout. Maybe there's still something else to install or the kernel has slipped back to 66 from 70 .........[/list]
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: nspur on March 31, 2009, 09:36:19 AM
And now the Wifi doesn't work any more. 3MX can't find it, though the minibook is next to the router and the Windows network wifi is working perfectly.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on March 31, 2009, 10:16:30 PM
Not had any time to look into this today but thought I'd post some info on what I had did last night.

I can only get my USB dongle to be recognised on 3MX by installing the patches from cnm although I get a timeout error. As it installs the same files on both OS's and I can get an internet connection on the default OS, it sounds to me there may be something missing on 3MX. I'll check tomorrow to see if there any processes running on the default OS by using the ps command that is related to PPP.

I'm not sure if 3MX or the default OS uses PPP or PPPoE (Point to Point over Ethernet) for connection. Again, I'm not sure if there is much difference between the two apart from hardware requirements. Again, another jigsaw in the puzzle.

I made a start on the PPP tutorial last night and one of the suggestions was to edit the /etc/resolv.conf to enter the IP addresses of the DNS servers (which is how I finally managed to get the internet connection on the default OS working) but that didn't work. I'll continue to work through that tomorrow for more suggestions. 

I've also noticed that some of the files that are installed through the cnm patches like gprs-dialler are shell scripts. I will print them out as well to see if they shed any light.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: nspur on April 02, 2009, 04:33:16 PM
A re-install of 3MX got the wifi back but if anyone has a Huawei 220 or 272 working properly under 3MX I would love to know how to do it.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: duttydea on April 03, 2009, 12:02:14 PM
Aint had a chance to play with it, but just seen: V70 kernel driver CDMA update installation package Released on [ 2009-03-06 ]

Maybe this will get the E220 working on the LLL using 3MX

http://www.skytone.net.cn/en/download_show.php?id=2&smallclass=12&article_id=143 (http://www.skytone.net.cn/en/download_show.php?id=2&smallclass=12&article_id=143)
Download Zip!!http://www.skytone.net.cn/en/download_file.php?dow_id=143 (http://www.skytone.net.cn/en/download_file.php?dow_id=143)
Info:

Type:Patch
Version:v01
System enviroment:release-3
Warning:Make sure that the dependences installed, else the program can not work normal!
Dependence:sys-rp-pppoe-v02.patch. (update dial script:cdma-dailer add support to CDMA U5/U8/EC325;cdma-start add support to ttyUSB0;resolve the bug that system down caused by “cancel” button down while dialing.)
Installation:download, decompress and then install with Software Installer?add-remove-1.1.0?
Description:update driver for CDMA-Modem,add support to CDMA XUNCHI U5&U8(support CDMA2000 1X),EC325(support CDMA 1X RTT). For v70 kernel.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on April 06, 2009, 10:35:53 PM
duttydea

I've installed the CDMA patch on 3MX but I still get the time-out error when trying to connect to Internet.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: Leven2e on April 06, 2009, 11:10:42 PM
have u restarted the system?
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on April 06, 2009, 11:15:38 PM
finally got the E220 to work on 3MX. The steps to do this is as follows:

Install apMobileConnection patch
Install driverModem-v70 patches
Install E220 patch

Open Terminal
type mc then press Enter
goto folder /etc/ppp/peers

Click F4 on blackjack
Edit the first line to say /dev/ttyUSB0
at line 8 that starts with user, enter the username you use
at line 9 that starts with password, enter the password you use.
Press F10 to save and exit

Press Cursor to move to blackjack-chat
Press F4
At line 9, enter your Access Point Name (all you are doing is replacing the second string in quotes to whatever it is for your network. T-mobile is general.t-mobile.uk). For example, this is mine:
OK 'AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP", "general.t-mobile.uk"'
Line 11 may need to be amended if your phone-number is not *99#. If so, replace this with the phone number for your network.
Press F10 to save and exit

goto folder /etc/ppp
scroll down to resolv.conf
Press F4
add the Primary and Secondary DNS server address for your mobile network in file.
Press F10 to save and exit

goto folder /etc/init.d
scroll down to modules
Press F4
Move down to Line 30
Press Enter to produce a blank line
add the following lines:
    net/dm9601.o\
    net/zd1211b.o\
Press F10 to save and exit

Reboot LLL.

Insert modem

When wireless connection wizard appears, enter settings as normal, using GPRS as connection type. Click on connect and wait until time-out error.

Click on the telephone icon which is the last one at the top of the screen. A window will open and if all goes well you will get a connection.

If clicking on the telephone icon does not work, load wireless connection wizard again. Click on telephone icon. Hopefully this should work.

Edit: note from npsur: I've found that the best way is to flick the 'phone icon (after which it said either "no USB0" or "USB0 locked by ...") and then click the Enable Huawei Driver menu item and because the script behind the phone item re-runs on failure you do get a connection fairly quickly.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: wicknix on April 07, 2009, 12:08:57 AM
Doh!  :D

Glad you got it working. At least now i know i'm not the only person using pppd to connect to usb gprs/edge/cdma/3g cell phones/modems. Though your instructions are much more detailed than mine were.. heh.

Cheers.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: duttydea on April 07, 2009, 04:36:24 AM
Can you still use wifi?

I have tried to install the e220 drivers and knocked out the drivers for the wifi!!
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on April 07, 2009, 07:06:02 AM
wicknix

If I recall, when I tried editing the blackjack settings last week, I got an error saying that /dev/ttyUSB0 was locked by another process. I think this was caused by the 3G connect program supplied with the drivers auto-loading  when the dongle is mounted. I noticed the same thing happening when I installed the default OS as it only worked when you let the 3G connect program auto-load rather than clicking on the icon. The time-out error that a lot of folk are experiencing may be caused by this!!!

duttydea

I haven't tried wifi yet as I have the 3G dongle and I don't think there is any free wifi hotspots in my local area.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: duttydea on April 07, 2009, 11:34:02 AM
duttydea

I haven't tried wifi yet as I have the 3G dongle and I don't think there is any free wifi hotspots in my local area.

Thats Cool,

Just wondered if your wifi is still being detected.

I was gonna buy a E220 (Maplin) but have no use for it if i cant get it working on my LLL!!!

Wicknix:

Is there a command that can be used to tell you if a modem. "ttyUSB0" or "ttyACM0" is connected?

Thanks in advance
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on April 07, 2009, 05:05:14 PM
I think I have a wireless route lying about somewhere, If I have some spare time I'll dig it out and try it although I'm not promising anything as I don't want to be bogged down trying to fix a feature that I won't really be using.

As to the device name, as the E220 is a generic model, it can't see it not being /dev/ttyUSB0. You can find out by typing in terminal:

ls /dev/tty*

This will display all devices that begin with tty. It should be one or the other.

Also remember, you will have to change the details for your mobile network  and it's DNS addresses. I think somebody posted a website with the DNS addresses of all the major UK networks.

Edit: Wireless does not work. I typed in the command iwconfig which displays details of wireless connections set up and there is none. I was thinking, this might actually work without the need for the E220 drivers. Can someone please give it a try and confirm if this is true.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: wicknix on April 07, 2009, 11:51:00 PM
You should not need to reinstall the e220 drivers. They are already included in 3MX. Whatever they changed in the new e220 drivers seems to knock out the wireless drivers. I would suggest not reinstalling the latest e220 drivers. It shouldn't be needed.

alsaf: Yeah its a good possibility that the new drivers lock /dev/ttyUSB0 or that the new software or whatever is included in the package is more than likely is conflicting with something. 3MX-rc1.1 is the only release mostly compatible with skytone, cnm etc patches/drivers. All later releases more than likely are not as 3MX changed and moved far beyond in terms of software/drivers and library upgrades.

Cheers.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: nspur on April 08, 2009, 03:33:42 PM
You should not need to reinstall the e220 drivers. They are already included in 3MX. Whatever they changed in the new e220 drivers seems to knock out the wireless drivers.
I can confirm that this is the case. However without the E220 driver from CnM being installed my E220 isn't recognised. But then with the CnM drivers there's a timeout and no connection.

I can't get alsaf's solution to work because my system doesn't have a ttyUSB0 device and I don't know why not. If it did, I'm sure that solution would work.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on April 08, 2009, 07:05:19 PM
I re-installed 3MX and tried the blackjack script, without installing the E200 patch,  but it did not work.

I installed the E200 patch but it did not work. I then installed apMobileConnection & driverModem-v70 patches and the blackscript script worked.

As with nspurs comments, installing the 3G patches knocks out wireless.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on April 08, 2009, 11:04:57 PM
Good news and bad news.

First the good news, The reason why wifi is knocked out is because the E220 installs a file which excludes the wifi Kernel modules from loading which causes the error. To fix this:

Open Terminal
type mc then press Enter
goto folder /etc/init.d
goto file modules
Press F4
Move down to Line 34 which says drivers/usb/acm.o"
Remove the " so it says drivers/usb/acm.o
Press Enter
add the following lines:
    net/dm9601.o\
    net/zd1211.o"
Press F10 to save and exit
Reboot LLL.

Wifi is reinstalled.

Lastly, the bad news. I had reinstalled 3MX to see if there was a particular 3G patch that works but I have installed the 3 patches and the blackjack script does not work. Like nspur, I don't have /dev/ttyUSB0 when I connect the 3G dongle. There doesn't seem to be any logical reason why it works one time but doesn't the next.

Edit @: I managed to get the blackjack script working again. I've ran the wifi program and I don't get the error message. I've modified the howto with extra instructions:
 
http://linuxlaptopforum.ark2webdesign.co.uk/index.php/topic,474.msg3475.html#msg3475
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: wicknix on April 09, 2009, 12:28:24 AM
Just for good measure i made a device entry for ttyUSB0 in the upcoming rc3.1 release. Hopefully with any luck that is all thats needed. I had to add ttyACM0 manually back in rc2 to get my cell phones modem recognized, so i hope this works for you all.

Cheers.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: nspur on April 09, 2009, 01:36:45 PM
Open Terminal
type mc then press Enter
goto folder /etc/init.d
goto file modules
Press F4
Move down to Line 34 which says drivers/usb/acm.o"
Remove the " so it says drivers/usb/acm.o
Press Enter
add the following lines:
    net/dm9601.o\
    net/zd1211.o"
Press F10 to save and exit
Reboot LLL.
Wifi is reinstalled.
http://linuxlaptopforum.ark2webdesign.co.uk/index.php/topic,474.msg3475.html#msg3475
Thanks for the tip. To get wifi working I had to insert
/net/dm9601.o\
/net/zd1211b.o\  note the b suffix
and I inserted these lines in the middle of the driver declaration section rather than at the end.

Also thanks very much for the update on getting the E220 family to work, which it does. I've found that the best way is to flick the 'phone icon (after which it said either "no USB0" or "USB0 locked by ...") and then click the Enable Huawei Driver menu item and because the script behind the phone item re-runs on failure you do get a connection fairly quickly.
Title: Re: Huweai E220/E160 working on 3MX?
Post by: alsaf on April 09, 2009, 11:18:04 PM
Thanks nspur for the info. I've updated the workaround with your details.

I installed the new version of 3MX but it does not have /dev/ttyUSB0.  I got the Major number of ttyUSB from /proc/devices and created it with the following command:

mknod /dev/ttyUSB0 c 188 0

Unfortunately it comes up with the error can not open file. I'll google around tomorrow to see if there is additional steps required to setup a device file. It would be great if you could get the 3G working without the rigmarole of having to load patches and all the other stuff.

Incidentally, I've just noticed that the 3G dongle I have is an E160, not sure where I got the E220 from.   
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: jiml on April 15, 2009, 10:54:32 PM
The detail below worked for me (rc3.1 Final with E220) without adding any drivers ... So well done "alsaf".

Ongoing it would be cool if 3MX used something like 'umtsmon' for 3G dialling.

btw the last two lines;

    net/dm9601.o\
    net/zd1211b.o\

were already there, although as

    net/dm9601.o\
    net/zd1211b.o"

I just left them alone.

Jim!

 
finally got the E220 to work on 3MX. The steps to do this is as follows:

Install apMobileConnection patch
Install driverModem-v70 patches
Install E220 patch

Open Terminal
type mc then press Enter
goto folder /etc/ppp/peers

Click F4 on blackjack
Edit the first line to say /dev/ttyUSB0
at line 8 that starts with user, enter the username you use
at line 9 that starts with password, enter the password you use.
Press F10 to save and exit

Press Cursor to move to blackjack-chat
Press F4
At line 9, enter your Access Point Name (all you are doing is replacing the second string in quotes to whatever it is for your network. T-mobile is general.t-mobile.uk). For example, this is mine:
OK 'AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP", "general.t-mobile.uk"'
Line 11 may need to be amended if your phone-number is not *99#. If so, replace this with the phone number for your network.
Press F10 to save and exit

goto folder /etc/ppp
scroll down to resolv.conf
Press F4
add the Primary and Secondary DNS server address for your mobile network in file.
Press F10 to save and exit

goto folder /etc/init.d
scroll down to modules
Press F4
Move down to Line 30
Press Enter to produce a blank line
add the following lines:
    net/dm9601.o\
    net/zd1211b.o\
Press F10 to save and exit

Reboot LLL.

Insert modem

When wireless connection wizard appears, enter settings as normal, using GPRS as connection type. Click on connect and wait until time-out error.

Click on the telephone icon which is the last one at the top of the screen. A window will open and if all goes well you will get a connection.

If clicking on the telephone icon does not work, load wireless connection wizard again. Click on telephone icon. Hopefully this should work.

Edit: note from npsur: I've found that the best way is to flick the 'phone icon (after which it said either "no USB0" or "USB0 locked by ...") and then click the Enable Huawei Driver menu item and because the script behind the phone item re-runs on failure you do get a connection fairly quickly.
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: cy8erpunk on May 23, 2009, 03:12:19 PM
Try as I might, I am still unable to get my Huawei dongle to work. I've tried editing the blackjack scripts, but everything I try keeps telling me it can't detect /dev/ttyUSB0 I've applied all the CnM patches, and edited /etc/init.d/modules to re-anable wifi, but nothing is working.

Are there scripts that run when "Data/Cell connect" initialises? Perhaps these need to be edited to get it to recognise the dongle?
Title: Re: Huweai E220 working on 3MX?
Post by: cy8erpunk on May 23, 2009, 04:11:16 PM
Had a poke around, and the program called when you click on "Data/Cell connect" is "ppp-wireless" I've also had a poke around in the /etc/ppp/ folder to see if the problem might be in there, still no joy. Mines is the E169G and works fine under the default OS, if that helps.