Small Linux Laptop Forum

Miscellaneous => Linux For Beginners => Topic started by: alsaf on March 14, 2009, 08:12:52 PM

Title: Configuring the Bourne Shell in Xterm
Post by: alsaf on March 14, 2009, 08:12:52 PM
I was trying to configure the Bourne Shell which Xterm uses but have come up a blank on it. The details of what I did is in my blog which I have set up to use as reference:

http://cnm-minibook-mucking-about.blogspot.com/2009/03/configuring-xterm-shell.html

Is it possible to have a wee gander at this just in case I'm doing something wrong.
Title: Re: Configuring the Bourne Shell in Xterm
Post by: wicknix on March 14, 2009, 09:26:08 PM
Not sure why that shell isn't recognizing that, but you could install bash and create a ~/.bashrc and it'll work. Thats what i used in 3MX. You can get bash from my packages page in the /others folder.


http://www.freeshells.ch/~wicked74/alpha400/packages

Cheers.
Title: Re: Configuring the Bourne Shell in Xterm
Post by: alsaf on March 14, 2009, 10:56:47 PM
The same behaviour is showing on Ubuntu so it can't be a glitch on the minibook sh version.

I'm just mucking about with the machine at the moment, not sure if I will be using the CLI a lot but if I do I will be switching to Bash.

BTW, I'd be wrong in saying that the minibook is being run as root?
Title: Re: Configuring the Bourne Shell in Xterm
Post by: rodonn on May 08, 2009, 11:31:45 PM
The minibook runs as root...
Title: Re: Configuring the Bourne Shell in Xterm
Post by: jimux on August 05, 2009, 03:32:07 PM
Not sure if this helps but the CnMbook runs busybox to provide many tools and busybox provides the ash shell, which is a cut down shell.